Universitat de Barcelona logotipo
Event: Workshop


Organised by : Institut d’Economia de Barcelona (IEB) and Grup de Recerca en Governs i Mercats (GiM, UB)

Starts: January 25, 2024 Ends: January 26, 2024


The aim of this meeting is to discuss recent research in the area of transport and infrastructure economics. The meeting will focus on issues related to pricing, investment and competition, but research papers in other areas of transport economics and infrastructure analysis, both from empirical and theoretical perspectives, are also welcome. Around 15 papers will be accepted for presentation and discussion at the meeting, which will take place on Thursday afternoon and Friday all day at the Faculty of Economics of University of Barcelona (Av Diagonal 690, Barcelona).

Organising Institutions

Institu d'Economia de Barcelona logotipo Universitat de Barcelona logotipo

Keynote Speaker

Erik Verhoef (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam)
Main topics of interest

– Infrastructure investment and finance

– Pricing issues in urban transport

– Air transport and airport management

– Freight economics and urban logistics

– The economics of parking

– Maritime transport and port economics

– Public transport: performance, efficiency and regulation

– Governance, ownership and competition issues in transport

– Energy and environmental issues in transport

– Railway economics: infrastructure access and competition

– Autonomous and connected vehicles

– Shared mobility and MaaS adoption


Papers should be sent to ieb.workshop@ub.edu by November 12, 2023. Only papers presented in PDF format and no longer than 30 pages will be considered. Papers will be evaluated by the scientific committee. The acceptance decision will be notified to authors by November 30, 2023.



Deadline for submission of papers: November 12, 2023.

Notification of acceptance of papers: November 30, 2023.

Registration: October 1, 2023 to January 19, 2024.

Scientific committee

Maria Börjesson (VTI)

Javier Campos (U  Las Palmas de Gran Canaria)

Tiziana D’Alfonso (Sapienza Università di Roma)

Xavier Fageda  (Universitat de Barcelona)

Sofia Franco (University of California, Irvine)

Daniel Hörcher (Imperial College & Budapest IT)

Jordi Perdiguero (UAB & IEB)

José Manuel Vassallo (UPM)

Organizing committee

Albert Gragera (UAB & IEB)

Tainá Pacheco (UAB)

Jordi Teixidó (UB & GiM)