Universitat de Barcelona logotipo
Event: Symposium

IX International Academic Symposium: Energy transition and opportunities for global economic recovery

Direction: Maria Teresa Costa Campi (University of Barcelona & IEB)

Coordination: Elisa Trujillo-Baute (Universitat de Lleida & IEB)

Date: February 02, 2021Hour: 9h - 18h

Venue to be announced


In parallel to the pursuit of the transition away from fossil fuels towards cleaner energy and to deliver on the Paris Agreement commitments for reducing greenhouse gas emissions, energy sector, without doubt, is confronted with unprecedented challenges triggered by the Covid-19 pandemic. In fact, this new situation will be a fresh opportunity to redesign the energy transition towards greater sustainability and resilience for global economic recovery. In this context, the Symposium it is configured as a forum for discussion and analysis current challenges with the capacity to contribute new ideas and proposals in the definition of a new sustainable energy model from an energy policy approach. Authors are invited to submit empirical papers emphasizing on the energy policy implications applied to oil, gas or electricity sector.

Organising Institutions

Institu d'Economia de Barcelona logotipo Universitat de Barcelona logotipo


Keynote Speakers

Claudia Kemfert (Diw Berlin)
Natalia Fabra (University Carlos III of Madrid)
Topics of interest

Energy system decarbonization

Green innovation

Energy sustainability

Demand flexibility

Energy poverty

Climate change

Energy efficiency

Financing energy transition

Geographical inequality

Carbon tax

Energy & circular economy

Energy & environmental policy & regulation


Deadline for submission of papers: October 16th, 2020
Deadline for acceptance of papers: November 9th, 2020
Registration of presenters: November 9th to November 23rd, 2020

Registration and further information

The full paper must be submitted by email (ieb.simposium@ub.edu) in PDF format.

Scientific Committee

Maria Teresa Costa-Campi (University of Barcelona & IEB)

Valentina Bosetti (Bocconi University)

Elisa Trujillo-Baute (University of Barcelona & IEB)

Mike Waterson (Warwick University)

José Garcia-Quevedo (University of Barcelona & IEB)

Joan Ramón Borrell (University of Barcelona)

Joan Batalla (University of Barcelona & Funseam & IEB)

Pere Mir (University of Lleida & IEB)

Andreas Löschel (University of Münster & IEB)

Pablo del Río (CSIC & IEB)

Monica Giullietti (Loughborough University)

Juan Rosellón (CIDE & DIW Berlin)

Francois Cohen (University of Ofxord)

Andrés Picazo (University of Valencia)

Tooraj Jamasb (Copenhagen School of Energy Infrastructure)

Organizing Committee

Maria Teresa Costa-Campi (University of Barcelona & IEB)

Joan Batalla (University of Barcelona & Funseam & IEB)

Elisa Trujillo-Baute (University of Barcelona & IEB)

José Garcia-Quevedo (University of Barcelona & IEB)

Elisenda Jové-Llopis (University of Barcelona)

Francois Cohen (University of Oxford)

This website uses cookies to ensure that you receive the best experience when navigating. If you continue without changing the settings, you accept its use in conformity with our cookies policy. More information