Universitat de Barcelona logotipo
Event: Summer School

European Summer School on Industrial Dynamics: Agglomeration, Industries and Innovation

Starts: August 31, 2009 Ends: September 04, 2009

“SALA DE RECEPCIONS” and "108 Room" (Faculty of Economics and Business of the University of Barcelona)


The Barcelona Institute of Economics (IEB) of the University of Barcelona is pleased to announce the 9th ESSID (European Summer School on Industrial Dynamics) on “Agglomeration, Industries and Innovation” to be held in Barcelona.


The objective of the course is twofold: to offer an intensive training program for PhD students, and to provide young scholars with the opportunity to discuss their own ongoing research with leading researchers in the field in a relaxed and open atmosphere. Students will have the opportunity to present their research work at sessions attended both by the invited lecturers and by IEB researchers.


Ajay Agrawal (University of Toronto)

Stefano Breschi (CESPRI-Bocconi University)

Coro Chasco Yrigoyen (Autonomous University of Madrid)

Francesco Lissoni (CESPRI-Bocconi University)

Philip McCann (University of Groningen)

Attila Varga (University of Pecs)


The economic geography of globalisation: knowledge, cities and fdi


Cluster genesis or the emergence of technology-based economic advantage


Social-spacial propinquity and the production of new ideas


Social networks and the geography of spillovers


Agglomeration and network externalities in r&d productivity

Application procedure

Send your CV and a one-page description of the topic of your PhD dissertation to ieb.essid2009@ub.edu


If you intend to present a paper, please attach an extended abstract (or preferably the entire paper).


Only PDF files will be accepted.


A letter of support from your PhD supervisor must be sent by post.

Board of Directors

Dominique Foray (EPFL, Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne)

Georg Licht (Centre for European Economic Research (ZEW))

Francesco Lissoni (CESPRI, Università Bocconi)

Patrick Llerena (BETA, Université Louis Pasteur Strasbourg)

Jacques Mairesse (United Nations University-Maastricht & CREST)

Franco Malerba (CESPRI, Università Bocconi)

Sonja Radas (Institute of Economics)

Bart Verspagen (ECIS,Technische Universiteit Eindhoven)

Ed Steinmueller (SPRU, University of Sussex)

Attila Varga (University of Pecs)

Josep M Arauzo-Carod (University Rovira i Virgili)

Jose García-Quevedo (University of Barcelona & IEB)

Elisabet Viladecans-Marsal (University of Barcelona & IEB)


Local Organisers

Peré Arqué (University of Barcelona & IEB)

Jose García-Quevedo (University of Barcelona & IEB)

Elisabet Viladecans-Marsal (University of Barcelona & IEB)


Deadline for application: May 15, 2009

Deadline for acceptance of application: May 25, 2009