Universitat de Barcelona logotipo
Acto: Simposio

VIII International Academic Symposium: Energy Efficiency Economics and Policy

Direction: Maria Teresa Costa Campi (University of Barcelona & IEB)

Coordination: Elisa Trujillo-Baute (University of Barcelona & IEB)

Fecha: febrero 04, 2020


Climate change is, without doubt, one of the main threats faced by present and future generations when trying to achieve sustainable development because of its negative effects on the economy, health and social welfare. The new social model required needs to compel both emissions reduction and sustainable economic growth. Within this context, energy efficiency can be seen as one of the main tools for reaching this target. The Symposium will try to shed light on economics underlying consumers decision making in energy efficiency and the evaluation of policies involving energy efficiency elements, its implications and challenges for future actions from an energy policy approach. Authors are invited to submit empirical papers emphasizing on the energy policy implications regarding the economics of energy efficiency applied to oil, gas or electricity sector.

Instituciones organizadoras

Institu d'Economia de Barcelona logotipo Universitat de Barcelona logotipo


Keynotes speakers

Claudia Kemfert (Diw Berlin)
Ulrich Wagner (University of Mannheim)
More information
Topics of interest

Energy efficiency

Smart meters

Energy system decarbonization

Policy and regulation

Green innovation

Energy poverty


Financing energy efficiency

Zero-energy buildings

Energy sustainability

Energy label and ecodesign



Deadline for submission of papers: October 14th, 2019

Deadline for acceptance of papers: October 28th, 2019

Registration of presenters: October 28th to November 18th, 2019


The full paper must be submitted by email ( in PDF format. Attendance is free for presenters and it will include accommodation, coffee breaks and lunch. There is a registration fee for non-presenters; further information on the symposium will be available at the event webpage at the IEB website:

Scientific Committee

Maria Teresa Costa (University of Barcelona&IEB)

Elisa Trujillo-Baute (University of Barcelona&IEB)

Jose García-Quevedo (University of Barcelona&IEB)

Joan Batalla (University of Barcelona  & Funseam&IEB)

Andreas Löschel (University of Münster)

Monica Giullietti (Loughborough University)

Juan Rosellón (CIDE & DIW Berlin)

Valentina Bosetti (Bocconi University)

Mike Waterson (Warwick University)

Joan Ramón Borrell (University of Barcelona)

Pere Mir (University of Lleida&IEB)

Pablo del Rio (CSIC&IEB)

Andres Picazo (University of Valencia)

Tooraj Jamasb (Durham University)

Organizing Committee

Maria Teresa Costa (University of Barcelona&IEB)

Elisa Trujillo-Baute (University of Barcelona&IEB)

Elisenda Jove (University of Barcelona)

Joan Batalla (University of Barcelona, Funseam&IEB)

Jose García-Quevedo (University of Barcelona&IEB)

Esta web utiliza cookies para personalizar la navegación y mejorar sus servicios. Si continúa navegando, usted acepta su uso de conformidad con nuestra política de cookies. Ver más información